Warrior Insider

The Inside Source for Hawaii Men's Basketball

McClanahan selected to second team All-BWC

University of Hawai’i guard JoVon McClanahan was selected to the All-Big West Conference second team on Monday. The 5-foot-10 junior emerged as the Rainbow Warriors’ leading scorer in conference games, averaging 13.5 points and 4.0 assists in 20 Big West games.

Teammates Noel Coleman and Kamaka Hepa received honorable mention for the all-conference team.

Coleman, who was a second-team selection last season, averaged 12.2 points per game overall and 10.7 per game against conference opponents. Hepa averaged 11.7 points and 6.4 rebounds per game against conference opponents.

Six players from other teams were selected to the All-Big West Conference first team, led by Player of the Year Ajay Mitchell of UC Santa Barbara.

Joining him on the first team are DJ Davis (UC Irvine), Elijah Pepper (UC Davis), Zyon Pullin (UC Riverside), Lassina Traore (Long Beach State) and Latrell Wrightsell Jr. (Cal State Fullerton).

Mike Magpayo of UC Riverside was selected the Coach of the Year.

Hawai’i finished in fifth place in the Big West with a 13-7 conference record. The Warriors will be the No. 5 seed for this week’s Hercules Tire Big West Championship Tournament at Henderson, Nev. Hawai’i will face No. 4 Cal State Fullerton in a quarterfinal game on Thursday at 2:30 p.m. Pacific Time (12:30 p.m. Hawai’i).

CLICK HERE to view the All-Big West Conference Team

Leave a Response

Login or fill in the fields below to comment. (New user? Register)