Warrior Insider

The Inside Source for Hawaii Men's Basketball

Stansberry named to All-Big West First Team

The University of Hawai’i basketball team’s record-setting shooter – senior Eddie Stansberry – was rewarded with a spot on the All-Big West Conference First Team on Monday.

Stansberry, a 6-foot-3 guard from San Francisco, finished the regular season ranked second in the conference for scoring (15.9 points per game) and 3-pointers (90). He has already established a Hawai’i season record for 3-point attempts (249), and is one of only three Rainbow Warriors to make at last 90 3-pointers in a season (Zane Johnson holds the record of 98, and Michael Kuebler is next with 97).

Stansberry is also just the sixth Hawai’i player to earn first team All-Big West Conference honors since the Rainbow Warriors joined the Big West in the 2012-13 season. The others are Christian Standhardinger (the only UH player named twice, in 2013 and 2014), Isaac Fotu (2014), Roderick Bobbitt (2016), Stefan Jankovic (2016) and Noah Allen (2017).

Two other Hawai’i players – senior  forward Zigmars Raimo and junior guard Drew Buggs – received honorable mention for the All-Big West Conference team.

Raimo is averaging 9.3 points, 6.8 rebounds, 3.3 assists per game and 1.7 steals per game. He ranks second in the conference for steals, fourth for rebounds, and seventh for assists.

Buggs leads the conference in assists at 5.3 per game, and is also contributing 9.4 points and 4.5 rebounds per game. He is on track to lead the Big West in assists for the second consecutive year. Earlier this season, he became Hawai’i’s all-time leader in assists.

Raimo was also honored by the conference with the Big West Conference Best Hustle co-Player  award. Raimo and UC Irvine’s Tommy Rutherford shared the honor.

CSUN sophomore forward Lamine Diane was named the Big West Conference Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.  He is the only player in Big West history to receive the top award as a freshman and sophomore.

Joining Diane and Stansberry on the All-Big West first team are CSUN guard Terrell Gomez, UC Santa Barbara guard Max Heidegger, UC Irvine guard Evan Leonard, and UC Irvine forward Collin Welp.

UC Irvine’s Russell Turner was named Big West Conference Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, and fourth time in his career. He led the Anteaters to the conference regular-season championship for the second consecutive year.

Other award winners were Long Beach State forward/center Joshua Morgan (Defensive Player of the Year), UC Irvine forward Collin Welp (Best Sixth Player), UC Davis guard Ezra Manjon (Freshman of the Year), and Cal State Fullerton guard Brandon Kamga (Newcomer of the Year).

CLICK HERE to view the full list of All-Big West Conference honorees

Leave a Response

Login or fill in the fields below to comment. (New user? Register)