Warrior Insider

The Inside Source for Hawaii Men's Basketball

2018 Diamond Head Classic field is announced

Former University of Hawai’i assistant coach Jamie Dixon will bring his TCU team to the 2018 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic. The Horned Frogs, who are currently ranked No. 12 in the Coaches Top 25 Poll, highlight the field of eight teams announced for next year.

The other seven teams in next year’s field will be host Hawai’i, Charlotte, Colorado, Indiana State, Rhode Island, Saint Mary’s and UNLV.

In addition to Dixon’s return to the Stan Sheriff Center, another storyline will involve Saint Mary’s. Current Hawai’i head coach Eran Ganot was an assistant coach for the Gaels prior to taking over the Rainbow Warriors.

Here is the announcement from www.hawaiiathletics.com

The field is set for the 2018 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic to be played Saturday, Sunday and Tuesday, Dec. 22, 23 and 25, 2018 at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu.

The 10th annual event will feature Charlotte (Conference USA), Colorado (Pac-12), tournament host school Hawai’i (Big West), Indiana State (Missouri Valley), Rhode Island (A-10), Saint Mary’s (WCC), TCU (Big 12), and UNLV (Mountain West).

Both Saint Mary’s and TCU have been nationally ranked in the Associated Press Top 25 this season with the Horned Frogs currently at No. 15. TCU is one of just four remaining undefeated teams in the country entering this week.

Four of the teams in next year’s tournament field played in the 2017 postseason. Rhode Island and Saint Mary’s each advanced to the NCAA Championship Second Round. TCU claimed the 2017 Postseason NIT title, while Colorado was also an NIT participant.

Five of the eight teams have previously appeared in the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic. Charlotte, Rhode Island, and TCU will make their first-ever appearances in the tournament.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games through three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in the championship game on the final day of the tournament.

Previous tournament champions of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic include USC (2009), Butler (2010), Kansas State (2011), Arizona (2012), Iowa State (2013), George Washington (2014), Oklahoma (2015), and San Diego State (2016).

The family-friendly tournament includes three days of tournament play, practices, events and travel experiences unique to the islands of Hawai’i. Additional information can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic’s official Web site at HawaiianAirlinesDiamondHeadClassic.com.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is one of 11 owned-and-operated basketball events by ESPN Events, a division of ESPN.

Leave a Response

Login or fill in the fields below to comment. (New user? Register)