Warrior Insider

The Inside Source for Hawaii Men's Basketball

Unofficial: 2017 Diamond Head Classic field


This is another unofficial announcement – several media outlets are reporting that the field for the 2017 Diamond Head Classic has been filled.

According to these reports, the eight teams for 2017 are: Hawai’i, Akron, Davidson, Miami (Fla.), Middle Tennessee, New Mexico State, USC and Utah State. None of those teams is currently in the Top 25 national polls. USC won the inaugural Diamond Head Classic in 2009.

The first-round pairings and brackets have yet to be announced.

This is not to be confused with the 2016 Diamond Head Classic, which is set for December 22, 23 and 25 at the Stan Sheriff Center. The teams in this year’s field are: Hawai’i, Illinois State, San Diego State, San Francisco, Southern Mississippi, Stephen F. Austin, Tulsa and Utah.

The Warriors will face Illinois State on the opening night.

For ticket information, please visit www.diamondheadclassic.com.

— — — — — — —



This is also a reminder that the Coaches vs. Cancer fundraising dinner event will take place tonight, November 17, at Murphy’s Bar and Grill in Downtown Honolulu.

North Carolina head coach Roy Williams and UH head coach Eran Ganot will both be speaking at th event. It is scheduled to run from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. at Murphy’s.

Tickets are $100 per person. For more information, send an e-mail to Jeff Portnoy at jportnoy@cades.com or call the UH basketball office at 956-6501.

Leave a Response

Login or fill in the fields below to comment. (New user? Register)